Import of 22 Vegetables no Longer Banned

AKnews reports that 22 different types of vegetables are not longer banned from being imported into the Kurdistan Region.

The ban had been imposed in May in order to boost local production.

The KRG's Minister for Agriculture, Jamil Suleiman, said, "since the local production of these vegetables has decreased, the banned items are allowed to be traded in, beginning on Monday".

The banned vegetables include marrow, tomato, okra, leek, onion, green beans, pepper, egg planet, watermelon, melon, striped cucumber, grapes, apple, fig, peach, potato, sunflower seeds, cabbage, cauliflower and lettuce.

However, Iranian potatoes are still banned. "It is harmful for health," Suleiman said.

(Source: AKnews)

Comments are closed.